Highway to Helen was conceived in 2006 but never born before today.

In my experience, and perhaps this is a tad pessimistic, 95% of personal blogs are public diaries full of drivel with absolutely no effort at writing. I did not want one of these blogs.

I’ll be more generous to professional blogs and say that only 50% are dry. 25% are strictly informational and meant to be browsed, not read. I did not want one of these blogs, either.

So, if it’s not this or that, what is it? In a past life I was pursuing a career political memoir writing. I think you can guess that this blog wants to be personal, professional, and political. Perhaps some time I will revisit the meaning of the word political and get back to you on what I mean by it.

Crazy Cat Lady + Cataloger/Techie Librarian + Activist/Humanitarian

I have no idea how to do it, but we’ll give it a go. I have provided links to blogs (and other goodies) in the sidebar that I admire and enjoy. These are for my personal inspiration and your impending pleasure, I hope.

In order to get the ball rolling, I’ve embarked on Vermont’s 23 Things. I think I’ll be surprised at how much I don’t know, and I’m supposed to be representative of the 2.0 generation, so there you go. Thing 1, awareness of the program. Check. Thing 3, set up blog and post. Check. Thing 4, register the blog with 23 Things. Check.

Thing 2, 7 1/2 habits of lifelong learners. This tutorial was a bit pedestrian and it definitely didn’t need to be that long for me. I say for me because it would be so easy to say that librarians are natural lifelong learners or are the representation of learning or any other cliché you like.

Librarians as a species are not specially learning-abled. There are doctors who smoke and librarians who quit learning after grad school. Being so precious about what we do is not exactly welcoming to people looking to join this program because they feel that they have been in a learning rut, or afraid to learn, and need a safe place to express that. I’m not saying that we shouldn’t encourage each other to achieve the cliché, but we shouldn’t appliqué it to all librarians and walk away.

To honor Thing 2, I am supposed to identify easiest/hardest habits:

**Habit 1 – Begin with the end in mind HARDEST
Habit 2 – Accept responsibility for your own learning
Habit 3 – View problems as challenges
Habit 4 – Have confidence in yourself as a competent, effective learner
Habit 5 – Create your own learning toolbox
Habit 6 – Use technology to your advantage
Habit 7 – Teach and mentor others
**Habit 7 ½ – PLAY! EASIEST

Play is the only good way to learn technology. If it’s play, it’s okay to make a mess. If it’s play, you’re not as concerned with breaking it. As for beginning with the end in mind, well, there has never been a technological thing in my lifetime that was ever done. They just keep going, forever, or fade away as they’re replaced by new technology. So I can see the end of this small 23 Things journey, but the tech understanding journal will be lifelong. As for the rest of the Habits, I have a varying grips on and enjoyment levels of those. So far so good!

