GCcatalog
Originally uploaded by CelestiHel

I had no idea how fun Flickr was. I’ve used Photobucket for years just as a place to store photos on the web for easy sharing and I assumed Flickr was that plus just a little something extra. I read through some of their tutorials and explored a little before I signed up and uploaded eleventy million pictures of my cats.

Helen’s Flickr

I found it a little irritating that in order to have a Flickr account, you have to first join Yahoo!, unless I have grossly misunderstood the sign up process, but assuming that I haven’t:

I understand that this is how these things are done when a service is bought by another service, but I don’t have to like it. This is just the sort of thing that has people concerned about the potential Microsoft/Yahoo! merger. The article I point you too is an interview in Bloomberg with Google, so please understand that when I say people, I do not mean Google (as an empire, this should worry them). What I mean is people like me; what if I don’t want to join Yahoo or generally dislike Microsoft products? I guess it could be argued that you put misgivings to rest and join or go without, but is anyone really comfortable with those kinds of options?

Moving on. Next I joined groups for each of my cat breeds and one for rescue pets because I am totally broken. I couldn’t figure out how to add pictures to those groups’ pools. While I was looking for instructions, I had a thought: maybe the Vermont 23 Things had a group we could all join. I searched and a few libraries/states did, but not us. So guess what? I made it! Because there were no pictures (and mine were still living on my camera) there was a handy link to the instructions for linking pictures to a group. Hooray!

I spent a long time figuring out the API for the linking tool to my blog. I don’t know what happened, and sometimes that just happens with technology. I just kept trying and eventually it all worked out. There’s a lesson in there somewhere I’m sure.

Lastly, I added some friends who have Flickr accounts to my contacts list. This is like citation jumping. You find a friend on there, then you add them and look at their contacts. You add common friends. Then those friends contacts and so on until you run out of steam. I only mention it because a lot of folks who are new to social software don’t know about this handy method for getting connected. So there you go.

I will say that I long for a tool in Flickr for importing your email contacts and checking for them in Flickr’s database, like LinkedIn and Facebook have. It’s just nice to be able to easily connect with people you know without having to jump through hoops to get there.

I remembered there being a widget for Flickr in WordPress. I added it to see if it would display my pictures, but it displayed random pictures only. I’m sure there’s a way to tweak this but I’m going to save it for thing 6 because I’m all learned out for the time.

