I don’t have a lot of personal use for Technorati right now, even though I do think it’s the bee’s knees. I am already drowning in blogs and have no want or need to discover more for the time. But, I think that this is a brilliant tool if you are looking. For instance, I told my partner that this would be a great tool for him to use to search for professional blogs and special interest blogs to keep up on things that are relevant to his field when he goes back to school. I’ll let you know if this turns out to be true!

Also, this technology works great with Del.icio.us as a way to share what you’re finding out there. I can see why they would be put in the same week as tandem discovery tools.

Technorati would be great if your preferred delivery method for news is blog based. I myself have tried a few things over the years and prefer to address news in the form of feeds from the Burlington Free Press, Times-Argus and Rutland Herald, New York Times alerts, and hitting Google News on my lunch break. But that’s me.

Not all Web 2.0 stuff is going to be a sure fit, we’re just shopping around here. I refuse to feel guilty because the latest and greatest thing that “all the cool librarians are using” doesn’t do it for me. For example, I’m just going to say it, I find both Second Life and Twitter to be absolutely useless to me. Utterly. And I will not be exploring them any further (unless I have to for this endeavor, but rest assured, I will not be delighted about it). But, I know other folks who swear by and absolutely love them. I don’t understand how people can live without their feed reader. To each their own. There’s plenty out there, and if you don’t think it’s fun or useful, then you will have a hard time convincing anyone else to use it. Or maintain it for your library, and the last thing we need to see on library web pages is dead technology that never gets updated.

