I made it! Yay! I’m actually thinking of looking up the other “things” programs that have more things and trying the ones that we didn’t do here. I feel like this was a great way to browse the 2.0 technologies.

That is the thing I got the most out of all this; it’s a way to browse. A lot of people asked me why I was taking this course, since I already had a Facebook page and did web design and had tried to use Second Life. My answer was two-fold.

  1. I only know about 50% of the technologies on this list. About 25% of those I got involved with out of need or invite and never learned their full functionality.
  2. I knew of all the other technologies, but I had an attitude about them and I wanted the opportunity to see if those assumptions were wrong.

And I did that. Now I have a good idea of all of them, and want to explore more. But it doesn’t mean that I’ll use them all. I think the best thing we can all take from this experience is that there is a great deal of great new stuff out there. But, like you wouldn’t buy every cereal in the aisle, you won’t “buy” all this technology. And that’s okay. We don’t have to like it all, but we do have to know about it. We have to be able to answer questions about what it’s for. We have to be able to recommend it to someone for whom it may be useful, even if we do not find it useful personally. And I think now, we would all agree, it only takes a short time here and there to learn enough to reach a reasonable point of knowing. If we want to go further, great, but that base level isn’t optional, nor difficult to attain.

I will think more on some of Mara’s questions and post more later, but having reached the end, these are my first reflections.

