I can balance my checkbook and maintain a budget and generally understand what happens to my money when I put in the bank. Generally. Maybe they taught all the crazy stock market, FED rate type stuff in college economics. I myself was too busy partying and taking classes like “The Alexander Technique” and “Documentarians and Their Work” to bother with practical stuff like Economics.

I mean no offense to the 1 in 1,000,000th person who’s heard of the Alexander Technique and reads my blog. Honestly, I learned a lot from that class and am still trying to improve my posture with it. I’ve also made a delightful past time of watching documentaries. What I’m saying here is that there is a reason I had to go to grad school. My liberal arts education where they allowed me to run my own show at 20 meant that I got a very expensive piece of paper and no additional marketable skills or competencies. Except writing, and please do not judge my writing by this blog.

Anyhoo, I find the whole of this current economic crisis a tad…okay, a ton baffling. All I see are meaningless number jumping up and down and big, BIG companies falling down. I mean, I don’t know what all AIG does, but they used to handle my retirement account until I rolled it over a few years ago. That makes me nervous, because I have no way of knowing if the people who are currently handling my money are about to pack it in. And banks are no better, TD Banknorth now owes the state of Vermont a tidy bit of cash for doing shady stuff. Makes me want to just take all my money out of everywhere and stick it in a jar. But then, if we all did that, we’d have a depression. Oh…wait…

So, thank goodness someone can explain stuff to me like I’m in high school again. I have  love affair with the blog I’ve Paid for this Twice Already… and she pulled together a nice list of other people’s blog posts that explain some of the crap we’re seeing in the news. Here’s a link to the Sunday Link Love – Holy Economy Edition

Good luck to everyone who’s just trying to get through it. I know I am!

