If you ask them, most people will indicate that they know there are wrong things on her credit report and they just forget or are too busy or it takes too long to fix it.  Wait, that’s wrong, most people will probably tell you they don’t look at their credit report at all. Egad!

I am in an absurd amount of debt and I have darn good credit and fixing problems on my credit report is part of the reason why. You are, by law, entitled to one free credit report from each of the reporting agencies per year.

As someone who has gone to free credit report sites advertised on TV (oh, we all know who I’m talking about here), I can promise you it is NOT worth it. Remembering to cancel is a pain, and the interface they use is the same for the free service as it is for the pay service if you need to make a dispute…and you will!

I like being on the four month plan. I rotate the credit reporting agencies (Experian, TranUnion, and EquiFax)  and get a new report every four months, which comes to one a year from each. This way, I can monitor their screw ups, of which there are many and occur often. Some people like to order once a year and compare them. It’s up to you what suits your fancy.

The place to get the free credit report that you are entitled to under the law is at AnnualCreditReport.com

