The Littlest Hitler: StoriesThe Littlest Hitler by Ryan Boudinot

I gave this one 3 of 5 stars on Goodreads

This collection of short stories by Ryan Boudinot was his first and I think I need to try some of the more recent work before I can fairly say whether I like the writing. The stories were all technically very well written and I did not find myself checking my watch, so to speak. He has a clear love of sci-fi, even in the stories that have not direct connection to the genre. I found the potpourri approach to be a lot of fun, never knowing what might come next.

However, I just kept thinking over and over that it was all trying too hard. The writing was effortless and a pleasure to read, but the story was always a little too hip, a little too cool, a little too “look how shocking.” I didn’t like the feeling of the knee-jerk hipster disregard that the stories made me feel, and it was every one. Hopefully this is tempered in later offerings.

