Canning for a New Generation: Bold, Fresh Flavors for the Modern PantryCanning for a New Generation: Bold, Fresh Flavors for the Modern Pantry by Liana Krissoff

I gave this book 5 of 5 stars on Goodreads

I’m not sure how one counts a cookbook as read (I read all the intros, lead ins, sidebars, and instructions, just not every recipe through and through), especially when it is about a technique that I don’t know how to do yet, but my visceral response was very positive. I can’t say I am utterly unintimidated by canning now, but the recipes in this book and the stories make me want to try. The author is a wee bit too hipster homesteader for me in style, but she’s genuine and it makes me feel like I might actually be able to make these things. And then the recipes…THE RECIPES…so many, so good. There are a lot of classic flavors but also combinations that remind me of a friend’s wild and fun concoctions. I want to eat these on everything. I don’t think I’ve ever wanted to try to make so many recipes in a cookbook, and that’s all there is to say.

