Misconception: A NovelMisconception by Ryan Boudinot

I gave this book 3 of 5 stars on Goodreads

This one is a snapshot of struggling families, first loves, hard moral dilemmas, violence and all the other things that go with being an adolescent in the imploding family. The narrative jumped back and forth in time but not in a jarring way. In the end there is no satisfactory resolve, as is usually true in life, and you are left with a snapshot of a domino situation gone horribly wrong.

I feel, as I did with the author’s collection of short stories The Littlest Hitler, that the shock content is a little too forced. I’m thinking that this is just his style and it’s not for me, but the only complaint I have is the wide-eyed showcasing of horror and otherness. The story would be just as full, just as alarming, without the added gesturing.

