Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead Poster

Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead (2006)

Okay, okay, so this one was beyond for me. It felt like it went on FOREVER, which is never a good sign. It seemed so promising, but I can’t even really tell you the loose plot because it really didn’t have one as far as I could tell. The closest I can say is it’s supposed to be about possessed chickens terrorizing the employees and patrons of a fast food chicken joint build on an old Native American burial ground. Mostly.

Things I liked were the absurd volume of gore, copious and ridiculous deaths, the monster chickens, the zombie-human-chicken hybrids.

Things I didn’t like were the vomiting…all the vomiting, the fact that it was part musical, the tempo, and a lot of the jokes.

The first few minutes was hopeful, the next hour was lame, but it picks up in the last 40 min. That said, I wouldn’t necessarily recommend sitting through the first hour just to get to the good stuff. You just feel free to skip ahead.

I never thought I’d say this, but I think this one was just too vulgar for me. That is to say, the vulgarity was was not bouyed enough by…something? Not substance, I’m not looking for substance here…I’ll have to think about it.

