Hellraiser III: Hell on Earth Hellraiser III: Hell on Earth (1992)

I had no expectations for this movie. None. So, that it far exceeded my expectations shouldn’t be a surprise. But it is! Third in a series, with the notable exception of A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors (a work of unparalleled genius), is usually a trainwreck. My only complaint about this movie was the lackluster new Cenobytes, and even one of those was pretty rad.

The gore was perfect, and that they found so many ways to kill that many people is pretty good! Pinhead is starting to get a little too, um, chatty. Let’s hope they don’t keep traipsing down that road. But the female heroine is terrific, and I’m not just saying that because I love her in Back to School (okay, you got me, I might be saying it because of that). All in all, a pleasant surprise!

